My Story

Ms. Dowell said that to right a good story you want a beginning that pulls people in and makes them want to read so I incorporated this into my story by starting with a dramatic question. Another thing Ms. Dowell said was that around the center of your story you should add the climax, the climax is point that your whole story has been leading up to, I incorporated this into my story when the book’s characters met a mystic. She said that the ending should be satisfying for the reader to read and something that answers questions that came up in the book, I tried to do this at the end of my story.

From revising with others I learned that I need to work on the part in between the climax and the end as it was a bit confusing. So I fixed that part and if I had not revised the story with others I probably would not have realized it was too confusing. I felt very fulfilled and proud of my story when it was finished and I really liked the way it turned out.

I felt so honored when Frances Dowell, a real author, liked my story and it was a great experience. I think I will write more stories in future especially this summer I plan to write a couple while I am on summer break.

To learn more about Frances Dowell, click here

Home

3 thoughts on “My Story”

  1. Wow Margot! I also really enjoyed working with Mrs. Dowell! I agree that revising with others helps improve ideas, story plans, and a lot more! I look forward to reading your story!

  2. I really think you did a good job on the beginning of your blog post. Also I liked your cover it looks very good also makes me want to read your story.

  3. I think it’s cool that you walked us through your process of revising it and what you changed in the story, so we could see how you progressed through every version.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *